If a mistake in a transaction is identified immediately after the transaction has been completed, then the transaction can be completely reversed by selecting the Reversal function within 30 seconds of the end of the transaction.
This function is particularly useful when the wrong transaction amount has been entered, and the mistake is only noticed on the customer copy.
To perform a Reversal press the menu key twice, then choose REVERSAL.
If the 30 second timer has not expired then your terminal will perform the Reversal, contacting the acquirer if necessary.
When a Reversal has been successfully performed the original transaction and the Reversal will not appear on the customer’s bank statement.
The original transaction and the Reversal will appear on your Banking and X/Z Balance reports. Reversals are recorded as the opposite of the original transaction: if you reverse a Sale then the Reversal will be shown as a Refund; or if you reverse a Refund then the Reversal will be shown as a Sale.
Note: You have 30 seconds of the end of transaction to perform reversal. Once that elapsed the transaction cannot be reversed. After this, a refund will need to be processed.